LinkedIn
Copied!

Table of Contents

Performing a private edit

Version:

Only available versions of this content are shown in the dropdown

To ensure that your application meets the unique needs of your customers, you can modify a rule that is unavailable for regular checkout by performing a private edit. Check out rules as private edits to edit rules that belong to locked rulesets.

Private edits are useful for quick debugging without interrupting other team members, because during a private edit other system architects can edit a rule at the same time.

When you perform a private edit, you edit a rule in an isolated sandbox, in which you can make and then test your changes. As a result, you maintain a good quality application and avoid creating errors, because during a private edit the original ruleset that contains your rule remains unchanged.

  1. In the navigation pane of Dev Studio, click Records, expand the category that contains the rule that you want to edit, and then click the rule.

  2. In the rule form, click Private edit.

  3. In the dialog box that appears, click Continue with private edit.

    The system saves a copy of the rule in your personal ruleset. Rules in your personal ruleset do not affect other users’ run-time experiences, or the actions that they can perform on this rule.
  4. Edit the rule.

  5. Click Save.

    Your application saves your changes into the checked-out version of the rule. These changes are visible only to you. When you run rules in your application, they resolve to only your checked-out version.
Make your changes available to other developers of your application by checking in the rules that you edit. For more information, see Checking in a rule.
Did you find this content helpful?

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.