LinkedIn
Copied!

Table of Contents

Checking out a rule

Version:

Only available versions of this content are shown in the dropdown

To avoid accidental rule changes or conflicts that might result from multiple developers working on the same rule, perform a check out, so that you can lock the rule and safely make changes to it. By checking a rule out before editing, you avoid unwanted rule changes, and as a result save time and maintain a better quality application.

You can only check out rules that belong to an unlocked ruleset. If you want to edit a rule that belongs to a locked ruleset, perform a private edit. For more information, see Performing a private edit.

When you make updates to your application in App Studio, Pega Platform automatically manages the check-in and checkout process.
  1. In the navigation pane of Dev Studio, click Records, expand the category that contains the rule that you want to edit, and then click the rule.

  2. In the header of the rule form, click Check out.

    Your application places a copy of the original or base rule in your personal ruleset. No other user can check out this rule until you check in your changes.
  3. Modify the rule as appropriate.

  4. Click Save.

    Your application saves your changes into the checked-out version of the rule. These changes are visible only to you. When you run rules in your application, they resolve to only your checked-out version.
Make your changes available to other developers of your application by checking in the rules that you edit. For more information, see Checking in a rule.
You do not have to check in your changes immediately. You can log out and return to a checked-out rule later or click Discard to remove the rule from your personal ruleset.
  • Standard rule checkout

    The Check out button appears for standard checkouts when all the following criteria are met:

  • Private checkout

    You can perform a private checkout of a rule that is typically not available for a standard checkout. For example, you can check out a rule in a locked ruleset to modify it and test the changes.

  • Checking out a rule to a branch

    You can check out a rule to a branch so that you can make changes to a rule and then save it in the branch ruleset. For information about rule resolution for rules saved to a branch ruleset, see .

  • Viewing your checkouts and accessing bulk actions

    Click the Checkouts icon in the Dev Studio header to open a list of rules checked out by your operator. Rules are organized by type, name, and Applies To class.

  • Rule checkout notes

    Note the following information when you are checking out rules:

  • Rule checkout tips

    You can use several features to determine that you have checked out all the rules in your application You can also use other features to undo changes and to override the default check-in procedure.

  • Personal ruleset

    Users who have the Allow rule check out option enabled for their operator IDs can place copies of rule instances into a personal ruleset. The name of this ruleset is the Operator ID, such as john_sawyer@abc.com. The personal ruleset is sometimes called the private ruleset.

  • Checking in a rule

    To make your changes available to your development team after you check out and edit a rule, check in the rule. When you check in edited or updated rules, you contribute to the efficient development of your application and avoid errors that might occur when other developers work on the same rule.

Related Content

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.