LinkedIn
Copied!

Table of Contents

RuleSet Maintenance wizard step 1

Version:

Only available versions of this content are shown in the dropdown

The RuleSet Maintenance wizard helps you copy rulesets and ruleset versions into new versions, merge several ruleset versions into one version, move rules from one version into another, and change a version's number.

Preparation and prerequisites

For Copy operations, the target rules, if they exist, must be unlocked and checked in before the operation can be completed. Source rules should be checked in.

For Move operations the source and target rules, if they exist, must be unlocked and checked in before the operation can be completed.

For Change a Version operations, the source rules should be checked in.

The wizard uses the full-text search indexes to reduce search time and increase accuracy. If full-text search for rules not enabled for your system, the process may operate much more slowly, and may not locate all data instances that may need to be updated.

When you are working with ruleset versions, the Copy missing RuleSet Prerequisites check box displays at the bottom of the first form of the wizard. Select this to have the wizard copy any prerequisite rulesets that the ruleset version that results from your process will require.

For a checklist of other prerequisites and preparation steps, see About the RuleSet Maintenance wizard.

Completing the form

  1. Access the ruleset wizard landing page by clicking Configure System Refactor Rulesets , and click Copy/Merge RuleSet.
  2. Select one of the four radio button options: Copy, Move, Merge, or Change a Version.

    Copying creates the target rules and leaves the source rules unchanged. Moving, merging, and changing create the target rules and delete the source rules.

    You can perform all four operations on ruleset versions. You can only move or merge rulesets.

  3. Select the ruleset or ruleset versions to be processed.

    Select the ruleset or version from the left-hand list, Available Source RuleSet(s), and move it to the right-hand list, Order of precedence during Copy/Move/Merge. You can drag your selection, double-click it, or select it and click the right-facing arrow icon between the lists to move it.

  4. Adjust order of precedence, if needed.

    If you are operating on multiple ruleset versions, they will be processed in the order listed, top-to-bottom. That is, rules are first processed from the first ruleset version listed and duplicate rules in the following versions in the list are dropped. Then any remaining rules are processed in the second ruleset version in the list and dropped from the following versions. Processing then continues in the same way down the list of versions. To move a version higher or lower in the list, select it and then click the up or down arrow. You can also click a selection and drag it to a higher or lower position in the list.

  5. Specify a Target name and, if wanted, a version.

    Enter the name of the ruleset or ruleset version that the selected rules are to be copied, moved, or merged into; or the new version number for the ruleset version. If you provide a new name, the wizard creates the target ruleset. If the target exists, source rules that also appear in the target are processed according to how you set the Overwrite.option (see the next step).

    If you move a ruleset and specify a target version, ruleset versions in the source ruleset are merged by skimming the rules to the specified version under the Target ruleset. That is, the highest versioned instance of each rule in the source ruleset versions is moved to the target ruleset and specified ruleset version.

    If you move a ruleset without specifying a target version, the source ruleset versions are preserved under the target ruleset.

    If you copy or move a ruleset version, you must provide a target version. If you copy or move multiple ruleset versions, they will be merged into the target version following the order in which you have listed them in the Order of precedence... list.

    Note that when you change a ruleset version number, the source and target ruleset names must be the same.

  6. For Copy, Move, and Change, specify the method to resolve rule conflicts.

    If you select Yes, source rules that duplicate existing target rules replace the target rules in the processed ruleset. If you select No, source rules that duplicate existing target rules are not processed, and the target rules are left unchanged.

  7. For Merge, specify whether the source rulesets or ruleset versions are to be deleted after the merge is complete. Select Yes to delete the sources; No to retain them. If you are merging ruleset versions and opt to delete the source versions, their parent rulesets are not deleted.
  8. When you merge ruleset versions, a display at the bottom of the form shows categories of non-versioned rules, and the number of rules of each type affected by changes to the ruleset versions you have selected and placed in the second list. You can exclude any category by clearing the check box to the left of its name.

    When you select Libraries and Functions from the list of non-versioned rules, all functions are merged when the ruleset name has changed. When the ruleset name is the same and only the version has changed, functions are treated like versioned rules.
  9. Click Next to continue to the next form in the wizard. See RuleSet Maintenance wizard 2. Click Cancel and then click Done to cancel the wizard.

About the RuleSet Maintenance wizard

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.