Close popover

Table of Contents

Rolling back revisions

Version:

You can roll back revisions that are already in production. You might do this when you find serious issues with the new application version that were not discovered during testing.

When a revision is rolled back, the system withdraws this revision from the production environment and restores the previous active revision.

  1. In Dev Studio, click Configure Decisioning Infrastructure Revision Management Revisions .

  2. Click Roll-back next to the active revision that you want to withdraw. The revision status changes to Rolled back.

Revision rollback causes the following system behavior:

  • A new application version is created. The new application is the same as the last active application version prior to the revision import that created the application version that is now rolled back. For example, if you roll back application version 01.01.02, the new application version number is 01.01.03 and the contents of that application version are identical to version 01.01.01.
  • The new application version is active.
  • All access groups for which the revision was activated point to the new application version.
  • All overlay applications, including the direct deployment overlay, point to the new application version.

  • Addressing changing business requirements

    With revision management, business users can respond to changing requirements by modifying and deploying your application’s rules in a controlled manner.

  • Importing revisions

    A revision manager creates the revision package in the business sandbox, in the context of an application overlay. You can import that package to Pega Platform to propagate rule changes to the production environment or first test the changes with a selected group of application users.

  • Activating revisions

    Activate a revision in test to propagate the changes included in the revision to all operators. Activate only those revisions that have been approved by testers. You can have only one active revision in the system at a time.

  • Discarding revisions

    When test users finish testing a revision and find that it is not working as expected, you can discard the revision from the production system.

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.