Close popover

Table of Contents

Activating the release for all users

Version:

After your Rules archive and Data archive are successfully deployed, changes are activated in various ways. Activation is the process by which a category of changes becomes usable by appropriate users of the system, if they have access.

Data changes, including schema changes, take effect immediately after being imported to the system. Your application might be able to access these fields immediately. After testing and when you are sufficiently comfortable, you should commit these changes. To commit data changes, follow the steps in Rolling back and committing tracked data.

To activate rule changes, you need to update the access groups that point to the prior version of your application rule:

  1. In Dev Studio, click Records.

  2. Click Security Access Group .

  3. Search for the access groups to be updated by specifying your application name in the search box and filtering the list.

  4. After you locate the access group, open the record and increment the version number for your application to the new release version.

  5. Click Save.

If you deploy code changes that need to be compiled, you must restart the system. Code changes cannot be made without downtime, and your System Administrator must perform a system restart. For information about the types of changes that you can make within a release, the release types, and the release management process to follow, see Understanding application release changes, types, and processes.
Suggest Edit

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.