Close popover

Table of Contents

Resolving pre-upgrade issues

Before you upgrade your Pega Marketing™ or Pega Customer Decision Hub™ application, run the Pre-Upgrade Check on your system to identify issues that might cause errors, time-outs, or failure during an upgrade. Resolve the reported issues to prepare your application for an upgrade.

The Pre-Upgrade Check may identify the following types of issues:

Issue: Hotfix

Your application is missing critical hotfixes that you need to apply before starting an upgrade. Request and apply the required hotfixes.

Requesting hotfixes

Obtain the required hotfixes to get your application ready for an upgrade.

  1. Go to My Support Portal and log in to your account.

  2. Click Create, and then select Request Type > Existing Hotfix Request.

  3. Enter and verify the hotfix details, and then click Submit.

Next steps

After you receive the requested hotfixes, apply them to your application.

Issue: Locked artifact ruleset

Before you upgrade, unlock the rulesets that contain rules to be upgraded.

Unlocking a ruleset

Allow the system to modify rules during an upgrade by unlocking the owning ruleset.

  1. Log in to Dev Studio with a user account that is associated with an access group for which the locked ruleset is configured as the default destination ruleset.
  2. In the navigation pane of Dev Studio, click the operator menu, and then click Access group.
  3. Click the Advanced tab.
  4. In the Design time configuration section, click the Crosshairs icon next to the Default destination ruleset field.

  5. On the Versions tab, click the arrow next to the ruleset version that you want to unlock.

  6. Optional: In the Effective Start Date field, click the Calendar icon to set a later date for the unlock to take effect.

  7. Click Unlock and Save.

  8. In the Unlock RuleSet Version window, enter your password, and then click Submit.

Issue: Batch Output tables

If the number of batch output tables and classes exceeds the recommended threshold of 1000, an upgrade might time out or take a long time. Reduce the number of batch output tables and classes by modifying the purge parameters used by the ProcessPurging agent:

Setting the age of purged records

Purge a greater number of records at a time by decreasing the number of days that the system waits to purge records.

  1. Log in to your application as an operator with access to App Studio.
  2. In the navigation pane of App Studio, click Settings > Application.
  3. On the Configuration tab, in the Delete campaign data older than field, enter the number of days that the agent waits to purge a record.
  4. Click Save.

Setting the maximum number of purged records

Purge records faster by increasing the maximum number of records that the system removes at a time. By default, the maximum number of purged records is set to 100. To change the default value, you first need to add this setting to the Dynamic System Settings list, and then set the new maximum number.

  1. Log in to your application as an operator with access to Dev Studio.
  2. In the navigation pane of Dev Studio, click Records > SysAdmin > Dynamic System Settings.
  3. Add the MKTPurgeMaxRecords setting:
    1. On the Dynamic System Settings tab, click Create.
    2. On the New tab, enter a short description of the dynamic system setting.
      Example: Maximum number of records purged at a time.
    3. In the Owning Ruleset field, enter PegaMKT-Engine.
    4. In the Setting Purpose field, enter MKTPurgeMaxRecords.
    5. Click Create and open.
  4. On the Settings tab, in the Value field, enter the new maximum number, and then click Save.

For more information about the ProcessPurging agent, see Pega Marketing agents.

Issue: Customized rules

If your application has customized rules that override Pega Marketing or Pega Customer Decision Hub rules, an upgrade will not take effect on the overridden rules. Review the customized rules and withdraw or re-baseline them if necessary. Withdrawing a rule means that the rule and all its instances with the same name in previous versions of the same major version ruleset are excluded from rule resolution. A re-baseline operation requires you to delete a customized rule and re-create it after a system upgrade by using an upgraded rule as the new baseline. 

Withdrawing a rule

Exclude a rule from rule resolution by changing its availability to withdrawn.

  1. Log in to your application as an operator with access to Dev Studio.
  2. In Dev Studio, open a customized rule by searching for it or by using the Application Explorer.
  3. In the top right corner, click Check Out.
  4. In the header of the form, next to the short description, click the rule availability label.
  5. In the Availability list, select Withdrawn, and then click OK.
  6. In the top right corner, click Check in to save your changes and check in the rule.

Re-baselining a rule

Delete a customized rule, upgrade the system, and then re-create it after the upgrade.

  1. Log in to your application as an operator with access to Dev Studio.
  2. In Dev Studio, open a customized rule by searching for it or by using the Application Explorer.
  3. Note down the configuration used for the rule and keep the note for later use.
  4. On the rule name tab, click Delete to delete the rule version.
  5. In the Delete window, enter a reason for the deletion, and then click Delete.
  6. After you upgrade your application, re-create a customized rule by using the configuration that you noted down in step 3.

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.