Skip to main content

This content has been archived and is no longer being updated. Links may not function; however, this content may be relevant to outdated versions of the product.

Support Article

Update privilege on section is not working to make it Readonly

SA-38551

Summary



The desired behavior is to have work area sections be either editable or read-only depending on who opens them, and from where. Specifically, if the owner of the item opens it from their worklist, the action area sections should be editable. If a user who doesn't own the work item opens it from a workbasket, certain sections should be read-only.

An attempt was made to implement this behavior using the Update privilege, per the following PDN post:


https://pdn.pega.com/community/pega-product-support/question/how-make-all-sections-within-flow-readonly

The technique applied is to conditionally assign an update privilege (e.g., "Never") on the section include that is never granted to any operator. This should make the section read-only. However, this was unsuccessful. The developer wants to know how to implement this correctly.

Error Messages



Not applicable


Steps to Reproduce



Open a case from the workbasket.
It should open up the case contents but in a read only mode


Root Cause



The issue happens because a Flow Action is being used. Flow Actions override the ReadOnly and SectionReadOnly flags in the global parameter page and make them editable. Flow Actions from Work class include Work- ! FlowActionHTML_Simple non-auto Section that has the code to override these two parameters.

Resolution



Perform the following local-change:
Have the privilege configured in a section which is inside the non-auto FlowActionHTML_Simple rule. This can be done using a wrapper section.

Example - Make section Work-.Resolve conditonally editable when opened from workbasket vs worklist:

The Resolve flow action:



The wrapper section includes 2 copies of the original Resolve section:



One of them is read-only, based on an added Update privilege which is granted to no one. It is visible if the When rule CannotPerformWork is true:



The other copy is editable. No Update privilege is specified, and it is visible if the When rule CannotPerformWork is false:



The When rule evaluates to true if the current user is not the assigned operator:



The "Never" privilege is not granted to anyone:



The original Resolve section is unchanged:



With this configuration, when you open a work item from a workbasket:



The Resolve section is uneditable:



On the other hand, if a user opens a work item from their worklist:



The Resolve section is editable:

Suggest Edit

Published August 26, 2017 - Updated October 8, 2020

Did you find this content helpful? Yes No

50% found this useful

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Community has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us