Skip to main content

This content has been archived and is no longer being updated. Links may not function; however, this content may be relevant to outdated versions of the product.

Support Article

Issue with Public/Private categories in Reports portal

SA-9667

Summary



As per Pega 7.x release notes, in report viewer tab, Public/Private categories replace the previous Standard/Shared/Personal categories. If user selects category as Public, reports are added in Standard reports tab. If user selects category as Private, reports are added in Personal reports tab, but users are unable to add any report in to Shared reports tab.
How to achieve this in Pega 7.x?

Error Messages



Not Applicable

Steps to Reproduce



1. Login to pyCaseManager portal and navigate to Reports tab.
2. Standard/Shared/Personal reports is displayed on screen.
3. Click on New category option. Observe that in Category type, you can select only Private or Public and reports can be added only under Standard/Personal.

Root Cause



The root cause of this problem is a defect in configuring operator settings at user environment. At user end, for all operators the ‘checkout’ option is enabled. Hence, users can add reports only under standard/personal categories.

Resolution



On Pega 7.X, Standard and Shared category types are merged into ‘Public’ and Personal as ‘Private’ category types. The following table attempts to explain the behavior between the two releases and between new/move and copy with check out enabled (developer role) and Checkout disabled (non-developer).  Although Standard and Shared in Pega 7.x is Public, and Personal is Private, currently the attempt is to illustrate it with its original names for ease of comparison.

 
 
  PRPC v7.X         PRPC v6.3SP1
Standard Shared Personal Standard Shared Personal
Save as/New Report Developer (Check-out option enabled) Y N Y Y N Y
Non-Developer (Check-out option disabled N N Y N N Y
Copy Report Shortcut Developer (Check-out option enabled) Y N Y Y Y Y
Non-Developer (Check-out option disabled) N Y Y N Y Y
 
When the user does not have checkout enabled (non-developer) and has ‘Report Wizard’ privilege and creates a new report or does a ’Save as’, it always ends up in Private.  Later, it has to be copied it to a Public category (shared).
 
Disable  ‘Check-out’ option for operators (non-developers). With this configuration, operators can add reports under shared category.
Suggest Edit

Published May 12, 2015 - Updated October 8, 2020

Did you find this content helpful? Yes No

100% found this useful

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Community has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us