Support Article

Re-editing Word document after merge causes unwanted prompt

SA-37560

Summary



User launches Word merge from the application.

After the merge process is complete, the user closes document and clicks the "Edit Document" button to re-edit the document.

Before the document opens, an Internet Explorer browser dialog ("What do you want to do with BeingEditedMsg.doc?" - "Open", "Save", "Save As") pops up.

This dialog is both unexpected and unwanted.


Error Messages



Internet Explorer browser dialog ("What do you want to do with BeingEditedMsg.doc?" - "Open", "Save", "Save As") pops up


Steps to Reproduce



1. Launch Word merge from the application.
2. Initially edit document and close.
3. Click the "Edit Document" button to re-edit document.


Root Cause



Defect in JavaScript code from @baseclass.WordMerge.js rule.

Resolution



Apply HFix-34022.

Published May 5, 2017 - Updated May 19, 2017

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.