Skip to main content

This content has been archived and is no longer being updated. Links may not function; however, this content may be relevant to outdated versions of the product.

Support Article

Old work object are retained when application is switched

SA-30995

Summary

User has two different applications in same environment. If a user has access to both the applications, and when user tries to switch from one application to other application, the work object worked one previous application are retained after switching the application. Infact the recents are also retained.


Error Messages



Not applicable 


Steps to Reproduce



1. Create two applications, for say "TestGCSApp" and "Fruits" with an operator "[email protected]" have access rights for both. This operator has been mapped with two access group, "Fruits:Managers" and "TestAppGCS:Managers".
2. After login with [email protected], create a work object for Fruits. for example:- "P-7".
4. Navigate to Operator Menu button, that is, Manager > Switch apps > TestAppGCS.
5. On work area, observe that the work object for first app "Fruits", that is,  P-7 is still opened.
6. Even one can edit this work object, thus its something unexpected.
Even after switching application the old work object of previous application is accessible. Also, user can open work object of previous application created earlier and edit as well.

 

Root Cause



Product is designed to behave like this.
From Pega 7.x onwards, any operator having access to two applications can open the work object of all the accessed application without switching application.

As a security measure, all the opened work object opens in review mode.

Resolution



Going forward in Pega 7.X version, this is a feature added to make work object of all the application available to user having access to two different applications.

For example, “[email protected]” has two access group "App1:Managers" and "App2:Managers" configured. Thus, user is allowed to create work object of both the application even after switching the application.

It might be observed that after switch the already opened work object of App1 goes in to review mode, thus avoiding user to edit it.
User (Manager in our example) need to again access the work object of App1, if required to process even after switching to App2.

Also, recent gadget tracks all user actions and it is not application specific. When switched to different application those are recent actions performed by user.

Though, if user want to tweak the rule and close the work object completely after switching the application.
​User may need to add additional script to close the work object forcefully according to the business requirement in the “Manager Portal Navigation”(pyCaseManager) rule.
 
Suggest Edit

Published January 24, 2017 - Updated October 8, 2020

Did you find this content helpful? Yes No

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega Community has detected you are using a browser which may prevent you from experiencing the site as intended. To improve your experience, please update your browser.

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us