Support Article

Session timeout timer does not work

SA-89502

Summary



The user is using the out-of-the-box session timeout section. When the timer starts and when the system hibernates or goes to sleep, the timer stops counting. After some time, when the user logs in, the timer resumes from the time before the system slept.


Error Messages



Not Applicable


Steps to Reproduce

  1. Set 20 minutes as the timeout for the access group.
  2. Configure a session timeout section with parameters as below:

    Timeout After (minutes): 20 minutes
    Warning Window (minutes): 10 minutes
  3. After logging in to the portal, wait for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes of waiting, the 'timeout' timer displays.
  4. Put the system to sleep (Windows) for some time (before making it to sleep, make a note of the timer's current time).
  5. Wake up the system. The timer resumes from the time before it slept.


Root Cause



This behavior is as per Pega product design.


Resolution



Here’s the explanation for the reported behavior:

The session timer provides a hook to the user to display the modal dialog when the specified time is reached. The Pega Developer is responsible to either keep the session active, end it, or perform any action on click of the modal dialog's Ok button.
  • The user has the default locking with a default lock timeout of 30 minutes. That is,  after 30 minutes of inactivity on the locked item (for example, User A ), the lock is considered as a soft lock and the work object is available for locking by other users.
  • This Lock entry is in the database. Hence, this is valid even after the system hibernates. That is, the lock timeout is honored from the stored value.
  • When User A returns from hibernation after an hour, the lock will be a soft lock,
    1. If no one has acquired the lock nor a system update performed on it, then User A can perform an action on it.
    2. If the agent or user has already acquired the lock on it and released it, and if the user continues to make changes and submits them, a warning displays that the user does not have the the lock on the work object and changes made are lost upon discarding.
Suggest Edit

Published October 8, 2020

Did you find this content helpful?

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.